Last week, I screwed up and I signed up for a social site called Yaari.com.
In the signup process, I was asked to import my contacts. It's not optional. Then I was asked to check the boxes for those I wanted to receive an invite to join me on Yaari. What I didn't realize until I started getting a wave of emails from friends I'd not heard from in some time was that they ignored the one box I checked and sent invites to EVERYONE IN MY ADDRESS BOOK.
Then some of those folks, when they got an invite from me, in turn registered. And guess what? THEIR ADDRESS BOOKS GOT SPAMMED, TOO.
So I wrote to Yaari:
This is what I got back from Yaari.com's Prerna Gupta (my bolds):
So a couple of key takeaways: (a) when I checked the one name in my address book to which I wanted to send an invite, that was apparently my "approval" to spam EVERYONE in my address book, (b) I'm not the only one pissed off about the (c) "misunderstanding", and finally (d) they've spammed my friends, many of whom gave me deserved crap about this whole thing.
Worst of all, I realized in the T+C's that by registering I am also required to provide an email address at which I can receive "commercial emails".
So this was the last letter:
When I imported the list from Yahoo, your interface provided check boxes to select who, from my imported address book, I wished to send an invite. I selected one. YOU SPAMMED THEM ALL, as apparently you did with my friends' address books as well. Given that, I'd rather not send you a comma-delimited address book. Why? I've got no guarantees as to what you might do with that information, based on your T+C's:
You left out (4),"refer you to the Better Business Bureau of Georgia", which is my next step. In the meantime, I'll blog about this and forward your email to the folks you spammed.
I was very eager to check out your service. I won't make that mistake again. My account is deactivated as of this email. I'll be watching with particular interest to see whether I continue to receive 'commercial emails', as also intimated in your T+C's."
Acknowledged - I was silly to give a real address - many friends of mine maintain multiple email accounts for exactly this reason. I got suckered, and dragged friends into this mess. Stay Tuned, folks. We'll see what the Georgia BBB has to say.
Even I was duped.
Yaari is totally useless spam social networking. I feel like giving the maximum punishment to the CEO and the management involved.
How dare they violate my privacy. They sent emails to from any1 to every1 including my clients and professors.
Posted by: snemax | 2009.05.29 at 22:06
I encourage everybody to install the Web of Trust add-on into your web browser software (http://www.mywot.com/). "WOT is a Free Internet Security addon for Firefox and IE that warns you about online scams and risky websites that try to deliver malware or send spam."
The WOT community has given Yaari bad ratings for trustworthiness, reliability, privacy and safety.
http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/yaari.com
Posted by: brthomas | 2009.03.15 at 11:39
An ounce of protection! I received an invite from someone I don't recall. Rather than answer anything I immediately tagged the message as SPAM. In today's techno slamming world better to err on the side of prudence rather than help thieves victimize you and everyone in your address book. Remember, too, curiosity (answering the "friend" question or visiting the site via the link supplied)is what killed the proverbial cat.
Posted by: AwShucks! | 2009.02.21 at 09:59
Uhggh I hate Yaari. I just got screwed by them recently.
Posted by: Patricia | 2009.01.23 at 08:25
A couple of months ago I received an invitation to join Yaari.com from a distant friend I haven't met for a while. I accepted the invitation and I made the exact same silly mistake signing up to Yaari.com.
What a nightmare! They stole my complete address book, and spammed all my contacts. I received mails and calls from family, friends, customers... you get the picture. I cancelled my account immediately and was force to apologize to all my contacts.
Someone appropriately tagged this site as a Spam2.0.
My 2¢ advice: STAY AWAY FROM YAARI.COM!
Posted by: Alex | 2008.09.18 at 06:30
Give em Hell! I was wondering why a site for Indian teens was telling me you wanted me to join! I've given you a sympathy post on my little bloggy as well. YMD!
Posted by: Jim Nichols | 2008.08.14 at 21:48
Plaxo used to do this too. Comcast just bought them for $150MM.
Just sayin'.
Posted by: Cody | 2008.08.13 at 10:46
Shady, shady. T+C's
Posted by: Stephen Giem | 2008.08.12 at 08:52